A Midsummer Night's Dream

By Charlotte Stace


Published on December 1, 2021

On December 3rd, 4th and 5th there will be a musical performance of A Midsummer Night’s Dream at L’Auditori

The Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC) will perform this music, with Fumiaki Miura, playing the solo violin, and Pinchas Zukerman both on the violin and conducting. Felix Mendelssohn composed music for William Shakespeare's play A Midsummer Night's Dream in the 1800s. Shakespeare’s play is a comedy written around 1595. The play is set in Athens, and consists of several subplots that revolve around the marriage of Theseus and Hippolyta

The influence of Bach and the classical tradition is present in all of Mendelssohn’s music, as he was the most classical of all the Romantics. A Midsummer Night’s Dream, the Italian Symphony and the Violin Concerto are the three gems of his orchestral output, full of a lively, refined and powerful expression, and a radiant clarity.

December 3, 2021 – December 5, 2021
Opening hours
19:00 – 20:30
19:00 – 20:30
11:00 – 12:30